We're working to improve the NAFOA website. Please check back as we continue to roll out updates.

ABOUT NAFOA


HISTORY & NOW

Through its work in growing tribal economies and strengthening tribal finance NAFOA supports the advancement of independent and culturally vibrant American Indian and Alaska Native communities. NAFOA launched over three decades ago as the Native American Finance Officers Association to highlight the role of tribal finance in fostering economic opportunities. Since that time, NAFOA has grown along with tribal economies.

Today NAFOA advocates sound economic and fiscal policy, develops innovative training programs in financial management, builds the financial and economic skills of the next generation, and convenes tribal leadership, experienced professionals, and economic partners to meet the challenges of economic growth and change.


LEADERSHIP

Board

President: William Lomax, Gitxsan Nation
1st Vice President: Varene Martin, Thlopthlocco Tribal Town, Mvskoke (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma
2nd Vice President: Cristina Danforth, Oneida Tribe of Indians of Wisconsin
Secretary: Dawson Her Many Horses, Rosebud Sioux Tribe of South Dakota
Treasurer: Kim Peone, Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians and Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation


TEAM

Dante desiderio headshot 1

Dante Desiderio

Executive Director

P : (202) 631-2003
E : dante@nafoa.org
Cooper etter tashina headshot  3

Tashina Etter Cooper

Director of Education

P : 602-540-0736
E : tashina@nafoa.org
Ed harjo cody2  1

Cody Harjo

Education Coordinator

P : 202-407-2368
E : cody@nafoa.org
Img 0837

Katie Johnson

Events and Projects Manager

P : 202-768-1201
E : katie@nafoa.org
Varenemartin

VaRene Martin

Director of Tribal Relations

P : 619-322-9285
E : varene@nafoa.org
Christina headshot 2

Christina Morbelli

Program Manager

P : 602-466-8697
E : christina@nafoa.org
Jennifer

Jennifer Parisien

Financial Management Policy Specialist

P : 202-558-8040
E : jennifer@nafoa.org