ABOUT NAFOA

HISTORY & NOW

Through its work in growing tribal economies and strengthening tribal finance NAFOA supports the advancement of independent and culturally vibrant American Indian and Alaska Native communities. NAFOA launched over three decades ago as the Native American Finance Officers Association to highlight the role of tribal finance in fostering economic opportunities. Since that time, NAFOA has grown along with tribal economies.

Today NAFOA advocates sound economic and fiscal policy, develops innovative training programs in financial management, builds the financial and economic skills of the next generation, and convenes tribal leadership, experienced professionals, and economic partners to meet the challenges of economic growth and change.

LEADERSHIP

Nafoa board

President: Cristina Danforth, Oneida Nation
1st Vice President: VaRene Martin, Thlopthlocco Tribal Town, Mvskoke (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma
2nd Vice President: Christina L. Jimerson, Seneca Nation of Indians
Secretary: Melanie Benjamin, Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe
Treasurer: Hattie Mitchell, Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation

TEAM

Dante desiderio headshot 1

Dante Desiderio

Executive Director

P : (202) 631-2003
E : dante@nafoa.org
Jcp nafoa 534

Jennifer Parisien

Financial Management Policy Specialist

P : 202-558-8040
E : jennifer@nafoa.org
Ed harjo cody2  1

Cody Harjo

Education Coordinator

P : 202-407-2368
E : cody@nafoa.org
Christina headshot 2

Christina Morbelli

Program Manager

P : 602-466-8697
E : christina@nafoa.org
Michelle taunton

Michelle Taunton

Director of Conference Planning and Corporate Partnerships

P : 202-853-0405
E : michelle@nafoa.org
20170502 164855

Gary Hayes

Director of Tribal Relations

P : 202-731-3969
E : gary@nafoa.org
Jcp nafoa 2 195

Missy Dunne Hurley, CMP

Events and Project Manager

P : 202-579-3372
E : missy@nafoa.org